

Draft Annual Membership Meeting MinutesSeptember 19, 2020

12:30pm Eastern; 11:30am Central; 10:30am Mountain; 9:30am Pacific

- 1. The meeting was called to order on time; however, there two different video conference sessions, so the meeting was delayed until everyone was participating on the same session and the required quorum of 10% of the membership in attendance could be established.
- The following NAEFO Directors and Officers were recognized as participating:
 - Candy McCullough, President
 - Bill Eckroth, Vice President
 - Ken Schmalbeck, Missouri State Director
 - Bruce Suenram, Montana State Director
 - Cliff Avery, Texas State Director

- David Burnett, Oregon State Director
- Gerry Gustafson, Washington State Director
- Orlanda Smith, Individual Director At-Large
- Bob Skaggs, Immediate Past President
- 3. The following NAEFO Administrative Staff were recognized as participating:
 - Monte Olsen, Executive Director
- Jeanne Ernst, Administrative Assistant
- 4. The minutes from the September 16th, 2019 Membership Meeting were approved as presented.
- 5. Jeanne Ernst, Administrative Assistant provided the 2020 year-to-date financial report with \$6,600 in gross income, \$2,241.90 in expenditures, cash on hand of \$10,310, \$1,250 in accounts receivable, and \$3,600 in accounts payable.
- 6. President Candy McCullough reported on the resignation of Barry Orth as Secretary/Treasurer and Legislative Committee Chair. Candy also reporting on her participation on the 2020 SAFER Grant Review Panel as well as partnerships with Columbia Southern University, the Public Consulting Group, and Streamline.
- 7. Executive Director Monte Olsen reported on progress against <u>NAEFO's 2019-2022</u> Strategic Plan and the Board of Directors reviews of NAEFO Policies.
- 8. Standing Committee Reports
 - a. Bylaws Committee Chair Ken Schmalbeck reviewed the proposed Bylaws amendments (red underlined text proposed to be added and red underlined struck out text proposed to be removed):

- i. Paragraph (a) of Section 2 of Article IV, which states, "The total number of State Directors may not exceed twice the number of State Members."
 (NAEFO currently has 4 State Members, which would limit the size of the NAEFO Board of Directors to 8) versus Section 11 of Article IV (which says the size of the NAEFO Board of Directors right now would be 9);
- ii. Section 11 of Article IV, which states, "The Immediate Past President and Officers shall be an ex-officio, voting members of the Board of Directors."; and
- iii. Section 1 of Article II, which states, "There are four (4) classes of members and membership will be granted upon approval by the Board of Directors and receipt of any required payment by the Corporation of membership dues."
- Communication Committee Chair Bill Eckroth reported on NAEFO's Facebook presence and asked everyone to please check in on Facebook for this event and like the NAEFO page).
- c. Conference and Education Committees Chair Candy McCullough reporting on the initiation of webinars in lieu of the 2020 conference and asked everyone to visit NAEFO's new webinar web page: www.naefo.org/webinars. Candy also reported that the 2021 Conference is scheduled to be held in Las Vegas, Nevada on September 20th-21st.
- d. As the Legislative Committee Chair is vacant, Executive Director Monte Olsen gave an updated on the Special Districts Provide Essential Services Act (S. 4308/H.R. 7073) and the Don't Break Up the T-Band Act (S. 2748/H.R. 6800).
- e. As the Membership Committee Chair is vacant, Executive Director Monte Olsen reported that the <u>Montana Fire Trustee Association</u> had joined NAEFO and that the <u>State Association of Fire and Emergency Districts</u> (SAFE-D) indicated that it would be joining NAEFO.
- f. As the Sponsorships Committee Chair is vacant, President Chair Candy McCullough reported that NAEFO has two Platinum Sponsors: Public Consulting Group and the Local Government Law Group and one Silver Sponsor: the Washington Fire Commissioners Association.

9. Unfinished Business

a. None known

10. New Business

- a. A motion was made to support the Don't Break Up the T-Band Act. Said motion passed.
- On behalf of the Board of Directors, Bylaws Committee Chair Ken Schmalbeck moved to recommend waiving the 14-day notice to amend Bylaws. Said motion passed.
- c. On behalf of the Board of Directors, Bylaws Committee Chair Ken Schmalbeck moved to recommend approval of the following proposed Bylaws amendments (red underlined text proposed to be added and red underlined struck out text proposed to be removed):
 - i. Paragraph (a) of Section 2 of Article IV, which states, "The total number of State Directors may not exceed twice the number of State Members."

(NAEFO currently has 4 State Members, which would limit the size of the NAEFO Board of Directors to 8) versus Section 11 of Article IV (which says the size of the NAEFO Board of Directors right now would be 9);

- ii. Section 11 of Article IV, which states, "The Immediate Past President and Officers shall be an ex-officio, voting members of the Board of Directors."; and
- iii. Section 1 of Article II, which states, "There are four (4) classes of members and membership will be granted upon approval by the Board of Directors and receipt of any required payment by the Corporation of membership dues."

Said motion to amend the Bylaws passed.

11. Orders of the Day

- a. The Board of Directors nominated incumbent Orlanda Smith Election as the Director At-Large to the NAEFO Board of Directors for a one-year term and there were no nominations from the floor for the At-Large Director. Orlanda was elected.
- b. The Board of Directors nominated the following for the listed office:
 - i. Incumbent Candy McCullough for President;
 - ii. Incumbent Bill Eckroth for Vice President;
 - iii. Dave Burnett for Secretary; and
 - iv. Ken Schmalbeck for Treasurer.

Bill Eckroth announced that he would remove his name from nomination as Vice President if Bob Skaggs was interested in being nominated for Vice President. Bob agreed to be nominated as Vice President and Bill removed his name from nomination as Vice President.

There were no other nominations from the floor for any of the offices and all nominees were elected for a term of one year.

- c. The motion was made to approve a Commercial Deposit Accounts and Related Services resolution to update check signing authorization for the officers and administrative staff. Said motion was passed.
- 12. It was announced that the Winter NAEFO Board of Directors meeting will be held on December 12, 2020 at Noon Eastern; 11 am Central; 10 am Mountain; 9:00 am Pacific.
- 13. The Director At-Large and Officers took their oaths of office.
- 14. The meeting was adjourned at 10:57 am Pacific.