

Special Board of Directors Meeting Minutes Saturday, January 7, 2023 via videoconference

- 1. Those present at the meeting establishing a quorum:
 - o Bruce Suenram, President
 - Marvin Hill, Vice President, and Illinois State Director
 - Monte Olsen, Secretary and Individual Director-At-Large
 - o Ken Schmalbeck, Treasurer

- Scott Barthelmass, Missouri State Director
- Bonnie Jones, Montana State Director
- Mark Jack, Texas State Director
- Candy McCullough, Immediate Past President
- 2. The meeting was called to order by the President at 11:01 am Eastern Time
- 3. The motion by the Vice President Hill to approve the <u>minutes of the December 17,</u> <u>2022 meeting</u> was approved.
- 4. Clay Avery from the Texas State Association of Fire and Emergency Districts was present as a guest.
- 5. President Suenram announced the appointment of Immediate Past President McCullough as Chair of the Legislative Committee. President Suenram asked Treasurer Schmalbeck if he would again serve as Chair of the Bylaws Committee and Treasurer Schmalbeck declined for the time being.

Executive Director Olsen provided a written report in advance and added that he was able to contact the Fire District Association of California (FDAC) regarding participation in the FDAC's Annual Conference and has submitted presentation proposal to FDAC's Education Committee that will be meeting on January 9th to finalize conference speakers.

Executive Director Olsen also stated that the new checking account is now open at Wells Fargo Bank and that the previous checking account at US Bank is now closed.

Executive Director Olsen provided the preliminary 2022 Financial Report in advance and answered questions from Board members regarding the Report. The Report was filed for audit. 6. The motion by Immediate Past Present McCullough to approve the <u>Attorney Fee and</u> <u>Representation Agreement with Boender & Payment Attorneys</u> was approved.

The motion by Missouri State Director Barthelmass to approve changing NAEFO's Registered Agent and NAEFO's physical address to Boender & Payment Attorneys and the Attorney's address of 800 Willamette Street, Suite 700, Eugene, Oregon 97401 was approved.

The motion by Illinois State Director Hill to approve changing NAEFO's telephone number to a telephone number with a 202 area code if possible and NAEFO's mailing address to Washington, D.C. was approved.

The motion by Immediate Past Present McCullough to approve the <u>2023 Conference</u> <u>contract</u> with <u>Sladek Conference Services</u>, <u>Inc.</u> was approved with the proviso that the Section III.B. does not include state association membership dues.

The motion by Immediate Past Present McCullough to approve the proposed changes to <u>Policy 10 – Membership Dues</u> was approved with the proviso that the title be changed to Annual Membership Dues.

The motion by Illinois State Director Hill to approve the proposed changes to Policy <u>9 – Sponsorship Guidelines</u> was approved with the proviso that the <u>King County Fire</u> <u>Commissioners Association's</u> 2023 Platinum Sponsorship receive the benefits of the December 12, 2020 version of the Sponsorship Guidelines. Texas State Director Jack abstained from voting on the motion to approve proposed changes to Policy 9 – Sponsorship Guidelines.

The motion by Treasurer Schmalbeck to approve the <u>Draft 2023-2026 Strategic Plan</u> was approved.

The motion by Missouri State Director Barthelmass to approve the proposed 2023 Budget was approved with the proviso that the Post Office Box Rental Account be increased from \$150 to \$300 and that the Miscellaneous Expense Account be decreased by \$150 from \$285 to \$135.

By consensus the dates of future NAEFO Board of Directors quarterly meetings, starting with the second quarter 2023 meeting, will start at 11:00 am Eastern on the third Saturday of the months of January, April, and October and at 7:30 pm Eastern on the Sunday evening before NAEFO's Annual Conference.

During a brief absence of President Suenram, Vice President Hill chaired the meeting during which the motion by Immediate Past Present McCullough to approve the proposed changes to <u>Policy 7 – Check Approval and Signing</u> was approved.

7. Returning from a brief absence, President Suenram resumed chairing the meeting during which the motion by Illinois State Director Hill to approve the Grant Research and Legislative Coalition Services proposal from Karr Advocacy Services was approved with the proviso that the initial scope be just grant research services. Texas State Director Jack abstained from voting on the motion to approve the <u>Coalition and Research Services Proposal</u> from <u>Karr Advocacy Services</u>.

The review of proposed changes to <u>Policy 6 – Protection of Records</u> was postponed until the next quarterly meeting of the NAEFO Board of Directors.

Special NAEFO Board of Directors Meeting Agenda

- 8. The upcoming state association events with a potential NAEFO presence are as follows:
 - Arizona Winter Training Conference on January 11-13 at Laughlin (NV)
 - Texas <u>Annual Conference</u> on February 2-4 near Austin
 - Illinois <u>Winter Conference</u> on February 17-18 at O'Fallon
 - o Idaho Annual Conference on March 2-4 at Coeur d'Alene
 - California <u>Annual Conference</u> on March 14-17 at Napa
 - New York Annual Meeting and Leadership Summit on May 18-20 at NYC
 - Florida <u>Annual Conference</u> on June 12-15 at Orlando
 - o Illinois Annual Conference with IFCA on June 13-17 at Peoria
 - Missouri MAFPD Conference on June 23-24 at Lake of the Ozarks
 - o Missouri MAA Summer Seminar on June 28-29 at Lake of the Ozarks
- 9. Second Quarter Meeting Agenda items will be:
 - Review of Policies
 - Policy 6 <u>Protection of Records</u>
 - Policy 3 <u>Partnerships and Agreements</u>
 - Policy 4 <u>Credentials</u>
 - Policy 5 <u>Committee Chairs and Members and Authority of Committees</u>
 - Policy 8 <u>Event Cancellation</u>

10. The meeting was adjourned at 12:28 pm Eastern.

Submitted to the Board of Directors on April 15, 2023 by:

Monte Olsen, Secretary

Approved by the Board of Directors on April 15, 2023 per:

Brue Suenram, President