

## **Draft 2021 Annual Membership Meeting Minutes January 8, 2022**

- 1. The 2021 annual membership meeting held by video conference was called to order on January 8, 2022, at 9:32 a.m. Pacific Time and the quorum was established.
- 2. Recognition of NAEFO Directors and Officers Present
  - Candy McCullough, President
  - Robert Skaggs, Vice President and Past President
  - David Burnett, Secretary and Oregon State Director
  - Ken Schmalbeck, Treasurer and Missouri State Director

- Bruce Suenram, Montana State Director
- o Cliff Avery, Texas State Director
- Gerry Gustafson, Washington State Director
- Orlanda Smith, Individual Director At-Large
- 3. Recognition of Administration Staff and Guests Present
  - Monte Olsen, Executive Director
- Jeanne Ernst, Administrative Assistant
- 4. Minutes from the Membership Meeting on September 19<sup>th</sup>, 2020 were approved as presented.
- 5. Financial Report, Jeanne Ernst, Administrative Secretary provided the following:
  - a. 2021 Financial Report

- b. Membership Status
- 6. President's Candy McCullough reported the following:
  - a. New/Potential State Association Members
    - i. State Association of Fire and Emergency Districts (SAFE-D)
    - ii. Illinois Association of Fire Protection Districts
  - b. Resignation
    - i. Bill Eckroth, Communications Committee Chair
  - c. Appointment
    - i. Cliff Avery, Communications Committee Chair
  - d. Ongoing Partnerships
    - i. Columbia Southern University (10% tuition discounts for NAEFO members, spouses, and children)
    - ii. Public Consulting Group (EMS consulting and webinar provider)

## **Draft NAEFO 2021 Annual Membership Meeting Minutes** January 8, 2022

- iii. Streamline (web hosting and portals for team collaboration and community engagement)
- 7. Executive Director's Report, Monte Olsen
  - a. Progress against NAEFO's 2019-2022 Strategic Plan
  - b. Reviews of NAEFO Policies
- 8. Standing Committee Reports
  - a. Bylaws Committee Chair Ken Schmalbeck reported the following:
    - i. The Board of Directors recommends approval of amending Section 1 of Article II of the Bylaws by striking the words "four (4)" and adding new subsection e (red underlined struck out text proposed to be removed):
      - Section 1. Membership. There are four (4) classes of members and membership will be granted upon approval by the Board of Directors and receipt of any payment by the Corporation of membership dues.
        - (e) Honorary Membership. Any individual who renders distinguished service to emergency services of the United States of America or to the Corporation may be designated by the Board of Directors as an Honorary Member without payment of dues. The Honorary Member shall be entitled to such privileges, except holding of elective office or voting, as the Board of Directors may determine.
  - b. Communication Committee Chair Cliff Avery reported on the communications that have been sent to promote NAEFO's webinars.
  - c. Conference and Education, Conference Committee Chair Candy McCullough reported the following:
    - i. Webinars (see new NAEFO webinar web page: www.naefo.org/webinars)
      - 1. <u>A National Perspective</u> with <u>Congressional Fire Service Institute</u> Executive Director <u>Bill Webb</u>
    - ii. Las Vegas, Nevada Conference Dates September 19th 20th, 2022
  - d. Legislative Committee Chair David Burnett reported on the:
    - i. American Rescue Plan Act of 2021; and
    - ii. Current Federal Legislation
  - e. Membership Committee Chair Monte Olsen expanded on the two new/potential State Association Members reported by President McCullough.
  - f. Sponsorships Committee Chair Candy McCullough urged all NAEFO members talk to companies and organizations about becoming NAEFO sponsors.
- 9. There was no Unfinished Business
- 10. New Business
  - a. The Bylaws amendment presented by Bylaws Committee Chair Ken Schmalbeck were adopted.
- 11. Orders of the Day

## **Draft NAEFO 2021 Annual Membership Meeting Minutes** January 8, 2022

- a. The following Directors At-Large were elected to the NAEFO Board of Directors for one-year term:
  - i. Orlanda Smith; and
  - ii. Monte Olsen
- b. The following Officers were nominated and elected to one-year terms:
  - i. President—Candy McCullough;
  - ii. Vice President—Robert (Bob) Skaggs;
  - iii. Secretary—David Burnett; and
  - iv. Treasurer—Ken Schmalbeck.

## 12. Announcements

- a. Scott Barthelmass is the new Executive Director for the Missouri Association of Fire Protection Districts.
- b. The Spring NAEFO Board of Directors meeting will be held on February 8, 2022 at Noon Eastern; 11 am Central; 10 am Mountain; 9:00 am Pacific
- 13. Newly elected Director and Officers were installed by taking oaths of office.
- 14. The meeting was adjourned at 10:04 am Pacific Time.