

2021 Annual Membership Meeting Agenda January 8, 2022

12:30pm Eastern; 11:30am Central; 10:30am Mountain; 9:30am Pacific

(email jeanne@naefo.org to participate via video conference)

- 1. Establishment of Quorum
- 2. Call to Order
- 3. Recognition of NAEFO Directors and Officers Present
 - Candy McCullough, President
 - Robert Skaggs, Vice President and Past President
 - David Burnett, Secretary and Oregon State Director
 - Ken Schmalbeck, Treasurer and Missouri State Director
- Bruce Suenram, Montana State Director
- Cliff Avery, Texas State Director
- Gerry Gustafson, Washington State Director
- Orlanda Smith, Individual Director At-Large
- 4. Recognition of Administration Staff and Guests Present
 - Monte Olsen, Executive Director
- o Jeanne Ernst, Administrative Assistant
- 5. Approval of Minutes from the Membership Meeting on September 19th, 2020
- 6. Financial Report, Jeanne Ernst, Administrative Secretary
 - a. 2021 Financial Report

- b. Membership Status
- 7. President's Report, Candy McCullough
 - a. New/Potential State Association Members
 - i. State Association of Fire and Emergency Districts (SAFE-D)
 - ii. Illinois Association of Fire Protection Districts
 - b. Resignation
 - i. Bill Eckroth, Communications Committee Chair
 - c. Appointment
 - i. Cliff Avery, Communications Committee Chair
 - d. Ongoing Partnerships
 - i. Columbia Southern University (10% tuition discounts for NAEFO members, spouses, and children)

- ii. Public Consulting Group (EMS consulting and webinar provider)
- iii. Streamline (web hosting and portals for team collaboration and community engagement)
- 8. Executive Director's Report, Monte Olsen
 - a. Progress against <u>NAEFO's 2019-2022 Strategic Plan</u>
 - b. Reviews of <u>NAEFO Policies</u>
- 9. Standing Committee Reports
 - a. Bylaws, Chair Ken Schmalbeck
 - i. The Board of Directors recommends approval of amending Section 1 of Article II of the Bylaws by striking the words "four (4)" and adding new subsection e (red underlined struck out text proposed to be removed):

Section 1. Membership. There are four (4) classes of members and membership will be granted upon approval by the Board of Directors and receipt of any payment by the Corporation of membership dues.

(e) Honorary Membership. Any individual who renders distinguished service to emergency services of the United States of America or to the Corporation may be designated by the Board of Directors as an Honorary Member without payment of dues. The Honorary Member shall be entitled to such privileges, except holding of elective office or voting, as the Board of Directors may determine.

- b. Communication, Chair Cliff Avery
 - i. Facebook presence (please check in on Facebook for this event and like the NAEFO page)
- c. Conference and Education, Conference Chair Candy McCullough with support from Mark Kreutzer
 - i. Webinars (see new NAEFO webinar web page: www.naefo.org/webinars)
 - 1. <u>A National Perspective</u> with <u>Congressional Fire Service Institute</u> Executive Director <u>Bill Webb</u>
 - ii. Las Vegas, Nevada Conference Dates September 19th 20th, 2022
- d. Legislative, Chair David Burnett
 - i. American Rescue Plan Act of 2021
 - ii. Current Federal Legislation
- e. Membership, Chair Monte Olsen
- f. Sponsorships, Chair Candy McCullough
- 10. Unfinished Business
 - a. None known
- 11. New Business
 - a. Amendments of Bylaws
- 12. Orders of the Day

Draft NAEFO 2021 Annual Membership Meeting Agenda January 8, 2022

- a. Election of Directors At-Large to the NAEFO Board of Directors for one-year term
 - i. Orlanda Smith is the incumbent
 - ii. Monte Olsen
- b. Election of Officers
 - i. President—Candy McCullough is the incumbent
 - ii. Vice President—Robert (Bob) Skaggs is the incumbent
 - iii. Secretary—Dave Burnett is the nominee
 - iv. Treasurer—Ken Schmalbeck is the nominee
- 13. Announcements
 - a. Spring NAEFO Board of Directors meeting: February 8, 2022 at Noon Eastern; 11 am Central; 10 am Mountain; 9:00 am Pacific
- 14. Review of Action Items, Jeanne Ernst, Administrative Assistant
- 15. Installation of Director and Officers
- 16. Adjournment